Home Forums Ganymede & Titan Forum shitty jobs

Viewing 83 posts - 1 through 83 (of 83 total)
  • Author
    Gwynnie
    Participant

I work in a crappy cafe… the other day my manager found ONE slightly dirty cup the other day, when I was full of cold and shouldn’t have been in anyway, the other girl went home early and left me on my own and there was a queue out the door. I am now being forced to read a massive, patronising manual about health and safety, or risk a disciplinary. And I have a BSc*, damnit!!! Anyone else want to tell us about crappy jobs/evil managers to erm… make me feel better?
    *Not Bronze Swimming Certificate. I can hardly swim.

hummingbird
    Participant

I don’t have a crappy job, just one that I don’t find particularly inspiring … but I guess that’s me and about 90% of the population.
    My job isn’t related to my qualifications (I have a maths degree) or my interests/hobbies (music, film, messing around with video and various other media), but it does pay the bills and put a roof over my head, and it allows me to enjoy the rest of the stuff with no pressure to make a living from it.

Of course I’d rather be doing something I love (and how lucky if you do), but, I mean, it’s all about compromises. Although I’ve made some bad decisions, there was good reason for them at the time, and those choices have opened different doors and given me things that I wouldn’t now be without.
    So, y’know, swings and roundabouts.

[/lecture]

Carlito
    Participant

I don’t even have a job. I’ve been looking for months, and I have pretty good background/experience.

Remember, things could be worse: you could be on the scrapheap.

If only I’d finished my English/Media degree, I could be… actually, what could I be? Blergh. My only income at the moment is from acting, and that’s once in a blue moon when the agency calls me, and usually only background stuff. Shucks.

Tarka Dal
    Participant