Doug unable to read fanfics?

Home Forums Ganymede & Titan Forum Doug unable to read fanfics?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  flanl3 1 month ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

Jump to bottom

• Author

Timewave Part Two

https://www.thegayuk.com/interview-red-dwarf-writer-and-creator-doug-naylor/

Interviewer: What do you think of Red Dwarf slash and fanfic in general?
    Doug: I don’t read any fanfic or any RD scripts that are sent to me for legal reasons.

I’m not a legal expert nor am I even remotely educated outside Blue’s Clues. Why exactly can’t Naylor read fan-submitted RD scripts? Is it cause a fan could sue Doug if he makes an episode remotely similar to a fanfic he read?

Warbodog

It’s a standard thing I’ve seen other writers and comedians saying they don’t do for a long time, so people can’t claim being ripped off. I’ve read that US TV studios send obviously script-shaped packages back to the sender unopened with a legal disclaimer added to make sure they can’t sue if a generically similar idea shows up years later as a B-plot in S07E11.

There might have been exceptions, since I know the 1990s Star Trek series had a policy of accepting unsolicited scripts, like that bloke who submitted ‘Thanks for the Memory’ with different character names. I don’t know any example of people suing for this, only that J. Michael Straczynski reckoned the whole Star Trek: Deep Space Nine premise was a rip-off of the Babylon 5 pitch he’d made to Paramount executives and was angry about it, but couldn’t be arsed to take legal action.

Dave

So the ‘idea for an episode’ thread has all been for nothing.

Timewave Part Two

I nominate this for Hall of Fame status

Ben Saunders